The Day Before Payday Blues

I’m going to warn you up front, I’m whining from a place of privilege. I know…

Dammit, so it is the day before payday and all through the house I’m out of almost everything. No soda, beer, rum, bourbon, chips, popcorn. Not much this week in the way of interesting things to cook either, which is a real downer. I DO have plenty of coffee and cheese and a few other things I buy at Costco. There’s some leftover food in the fridge, 3-4 bowls of instant phở, and a couple of pounds of meat in the freezer. And there’s like $3 in the checking account! I’m really super stressed out.

The reality here is that my stress is largely unfounded, and due to part of my brain living in the past. I’ve been in a place where if I burned a meal I’d have to eat it anyway because there wasn’t any other food. I’ve scraped together change to buy a couple of packs of ramen to make it to payday. I’ve been in a situation where I’ve had to go to a pawn shop ON PAYDAY because the whole thing was spent before I got it and there wasn’t any money left for food. I’m not there now, but I know how easy it can be to fall back down again. I don’t take it for granted, and I never forget how lucky I am that I have a selection of kind of boring meals that I can cook tonight, instead of digging around in the car for an extra few coins.

Sometimes though… damn I don’t want to cook what I got. 😛

Leave a Reply

